top of page

Pattern Caterpillar - PreK and Kinder


For the Pattern Caterpillar I begin by talking about the artist Eric Carle and his book "The Very Hungry Caterpillar". We listen to a read aloud of the book which I have linked below. Then we talk about patterns, specifically AB patterns. Usually I do this project right when we get back from Winter Break, and by then PreK have covered patterns a bit in their classes.


We start by following the demo video I made (linked below) to draw the outlines of the caterpillar, first with pencil then with Sharpie. Then I have the kids come and pick out two half sheets of colored paper, making sure they pick two different colors. Then I walk them through how to trace and cut out their circles. After all the cutting is done and their mess is cleaned up I again go over AB patterns and then have them glue down their circles to their caterpillar. Once all the gluing is done I pass out crayons and tell them to color at a level 3 or 4 on our craftsmanship chart. (See Below)


Links:


Read Aloud:


Spanish Version:


Eric Carle Presentation:


Lesson Demo Video:

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page