top of page

Keith Harring - Kinder and 1st Grade


For this Keith Haring project I show a few images of Keith Haring's work, and a section of the mural I painted that is inspired by him. After talking about his own art we talk about the project we are working on.

We begin with the person and I walk them through how to create a stick figure. We start with the head then draw the neck/body. Then I talk about how we have shoulders and show them how to add a line to their stick figures too represent the shoulders. Next, we look at our arms and hands. I show them how to break an arm into 3 parts (Upper arm, Forearm, hand). I tell them to think about what they want their person to be posed doing, then have them draw their stick figure arms. I repeat this process for the legs/feet.

After they have a completed stick figure, I have them trace an outline around it, and then erase the original stick figure (I call it the skeleton bones).

Once done with the person I walk them through step by step how to make the dog. Since this is more of a see-then-do portion of the demo some of the dogs will look a bit silly, as Kinder and First are still learning about spatial awareness. After the dog demo is over, I talk about the motion lines and how they show action as if the dog is barking or the person is jumping. I allow students to add their own motion lines where they want.

The final portion for drawing are adding motion lines around the outside of our figures that go off the page. This can be a hard concept for the littles, so I encourage them to try their best. Once done, they trace over their pencil lines with sharpie before using Oil pastels to add color.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page