top of page

Matisse Abstract Collage - PreK and Kinder


For our 2nd project of the year I really focus on cut/tear, glue, and manipulation fine motor skills.

I begin by showing a short presentation about Henri Matisse. I talk about collage and abstract art and then we talk about how both of those concepts are found in his artwork.

Next, I introduce our project then use a video demo to walk students through the process to make our art. I have student begin by picking out two colors of paper from our box of recycled paper (leftover bits from the year before). They can either cut or tear these into smaller pieces that they will then glue to their paper.

After we finish with the colored paper, I give them markers, crayons, and pencils to draw and scribble on their paper. Some students (mostly Kinder) will turn theirs into images of people or things, and others keep them really abstract.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page